Been a slow couple of days.

    It’s been a slow peaceful last couple of days. No real complaints, just the same old waiting game for everything. Made some Lumpia today, about 25 pork and 25 beef, that was relaxing for me, and a huge mess also. Watching the movie Devil, it’s about as good as the last couple of M Night Shyamalan‘s movies, Unbreakable was his last good one. 


Tomorrow I am suppose to be getting a bicycle, and am very excited about that.  I guess I should at least post my Lumpia recipe.


1 pound ground beef or ground pork
1/2 cup small diced onion
2 Tablespoons grated garlic
1/2 cup carrots, brunoise
1/2 cup thinly sliced cabbage
1/2 cup thinly sliced green onion
1 Tablespoon vegetable oil
1 Tablespoon rice vinegar
1 Tablespoon soy sauce
1 Teaspoon garlic powder
1 Teaspoon black pepper


Heat 1 Tablespoon of vegetable oil, on medium heat on a large 12″ frying pan. Cook the meat until brown, then remove from pan and oil. Using the fat and the oil from the meat, sauté the onions until translucent, on medium heat. Add garlic, sauté for 1-2 more minutes. Add carrots, green onions, and cabbage, and sauté for 4-5 minutes.  Add meat, soy sauce, rice vinegar, garlic powder and black pepper, adjust seasoning to taste if desire. I omitted salt, since I am using soy sauce and rice vinegar I didn’t deem it important. Remove from heat, and allow to cool. 


When filling is cool enough to touch, place in lumpier wrapper, and roll. If you don’t know how to roll a lumpia or egg roll I suggest you follow the directions on the back of the package. Fry in about 2 cups of vegetable oil, until golden brown and crispy. For dipping sauce I use either a store bought sweet chili sauce, or a mixture of sliced green onion, black pepper and rice vinegar. 


Not bad for a white boy. Taught to me by a Chamorro woman though, so I guess not bad for a Haolie. Hafa adai. 

2 responses to “Been a slow couple of days.

Leave a comment